Project RUMBA

Achieving a positive user experience through user-friendly design of the vehicle interior for automated driving functions

Rumba | BMWi Logos

No radical changes to vehicle interior design or the basic concepts of driver-vehicle interaction have occurred in many decades. But, with fully automated driving (SAE level 4), the driver is no longer responsible for the task of driving the vehicle, and this will lead to a change in the needs of users.

The purpose of the RUMBA project is to completely redesign the vehicle interior and ride experience for the occupants when the vehicle is in fully automated driving mode.

The research project has set itself the goal of breaking away from established, conventional ways of thinking about interior design. Within the scope of RUMBA, the researchers aim not only to redesign the entire interior HMI concept but also to develop a new kind of vehicle control concept based on steer-by-wire, which combines acceleration, deceleration, and steering control in a single element.

In addition, the automated vehicle’s trajectory planning will be specifically optimized to cater to the vehicle occupants’ feeling of safety and comfort. To reach the project goals, a user-centered development process is being used that comprises three iterations in which the demonstrator maturity, user group, and evaluation environment (test bench, test track, real traffic) differ. This ensures that the changed user requirements with respect to ergonomics, sense of space, ambience, ride comfort, occupant comfort, wellbeing, controllability, and confidence in the system are optimally modeled in the prototypes.

The influencing factors and cause-effect relationships are mapped for the passenger car and commercial vehicle segments together in a joint requirements and solution space for interiors that takes all disciplines into consideration. This makes it possible to apply the concepts to both of these vehicle segments. The aim of the project is to gain a comprehensive understanding of user requirements for fully automated driving, to develop solution concepts, and to have prototypes evaluated by end users. On the basis of these activities, it will then be possible to provide recommended courses of action for successfully driving forward the development of fully automated driving.

Project profile

Partners:
AUDI AG, MAN Truck & Bus SE, Robert Bosch GmbH, Robert Bosch Automotive Steering GmbH, CanControls GmbH, OHP GmbH, Spiegel Institut Mannheim GmbH, studiokurbos GmbH, Hochschule der Medien Stuttgart,  Universität Stuttgart, Würzburger Institut für Verkehrswissenschaften GmbH

Project volume

€ 21.707.264,35
(of which 48% is funding from the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy – BMWi)

Duration

September 2020 – February 2024

Project coordinator

Robert Bosch GmbH

Project administration

TÜV Rheinland Consulting GmbH

Projekt RUMBA

Realisierung einer positiven User Experience mittels benutzerfreundlicher Ausgestaltung des Innenraums für automatisierte Fahrfunktionen

Rumba | BMWi Logos

Seit Jahrzehnten haben sich weder das Innenraumdesign von Fahrzeugen noch das grundsätzliche Interaktionskonzept zwischen Fahrer und Fahrzeug stark verändert. Beim vollautomatisierten Fahren (SAE-Level 4) ist der Fahrer nicht mehr für die Fahrzeugführung verantwortlich, wodurch ein Wandel der Nutzerbedürfnisse erfolgen wird.

RUMBA setzt sich zum Ziel, den Innenraum sowie das Fahrerlebnis für die Insassen während der vollautomatisierten Fahrt vollkommen neu zu gestalten.

Dazu setzt sich das Forschungsvorhaben zum Ziel, bekannte Denkmuster bei der Interieurgestaltung zu durchbrechen. In Rahmen von RUMBA wird nicht nur das gesamte Interieur-HMI-Konzept neu gestaltet, sondern auch ein neuartiges, auf Steer-by-Wire basierendes Bedienkonzept zur Fahrzeugführung entwickelt, welches Quer- und Längsführung in einem Element vereinigt.

Darüber hinaus wird die Trajektorienplanung des automatisierten Fahrzeuges konsequent hinsichtlich des Sicherheits- und Komfortgefühls des Insassen optimiert. Zur Erreichung der Projektziele wird ein nutzerzentrierter Entwicklungsprozess mit drei Iterationen angewendet, in welchen sich der Reifegrad des Demonstrators, die Nutzergruppe und die Evaluierungsumgebung (Prüfstand, Teststrecke, Realverkehr) unterscheiden. Dadurch wird gewährleistet, dass die veränderten Nutzerbedürfnisse hinsichtlich Ergonomie, Raumgefühl & -wirkung, Fahrkomfort, Insassenkomfort, Wohlbefinden, Kontrollierbarkeit und Systemvertrauen optimal in den Prototypen abgebildet werden.

Die Einflussfaktoren und Wirkzusammenhänge werden dabei interdisziplinär und für die Fahrzeugklassen Pkw und Lkw in einem gemeinsamen Anforderungs- und Lösungsraum für Innenräume abgebildet, wodurch eine Übertragung der Konzepte ermöglicht wird. Ziel des Projektes ist es die Nutzeranforderungen an das vollautomatisierte Fahren umfassend zu verstehen, Lösungskonzepte zu entwickeln und die Evaluierung von Prototypen durch die Endnutzer. Auf Basis dieser Aktivitäten können Handlungsempfehlungen gegeben werden, um die Entwicklung des vollautomatisierten Fahrens erfolgreich voranzutreiben.

Projektsteckbrief

Partner:
AUDI AG, MAN Truck & Bus SE, Robert Bosch GmbH, Robert Bosch Automotive Steering GmbH, CanControls GmbH, OHP GmbH, Spiegel Institut Mannheim GmbH, studiokurbos GmbH, Hochschule der Medien Stuttgart,  Universität Stuttgart, Würzburger Institut für Verkehrswissenschaften GmbH

Projektvolumen

21.707.264,35 €
(davon 48 % Förderanteil durch BMWi)

Laufzeit

September 2020 – Februar 2024

Verbundkoordinator

Robert Bosch GmbH

Projektträger

TÜV Rheinland Consulting GmbH